Guilt in the Time of Dragons

The Shamer's Daughter

Fantasy horror flick The Shamer’s Daughter (i.e., Skammeren’s Datter) was released in Denmark back in March, 2015. I couldn’t find a bus that could get me there, so I missed the bus on that one.

Then Shamer was premiered at the 2015 Fantasia festival in Montreal last summer. Still no bus. Is it just my imagination, or does public transit not want me to see this period piece involving medieval dragons, witches and a throne that needs to be sat on? Conspiracy theories aside, I think we all know the answer here.

The Shamer's Daughter

Like waiting for a bus that never comes, I’ll just have to twiddle my thumbs even more for The Shamer’s Daughter to come out on VHS cassette tape. Or VOD. And here’s why my patience – which is running thin – will pay off…

The Shamer's Daughter

“The Shamer’s daughter, Dina, has unwillingly inherited her mother’s supernatural ability – she can look straight into the soul of other people, making them feel ashamed of themselves. In a semi-realistic medieval fantasy world with dragons and witchcraft, Dina and her family are thrown into the adventure of a lifetime in order to put the rightful heir to the Kingdom of Dunark.”

The Shamer's Daughter

For the record, I don’t need to have some stinky Renaissance fair chick peep into what’s left of my soul to make me feel ashamed of myself. Alcohol does that just fine, thank you.

P.S. I’m the rightful heir to the Kingdom of Dunark. That’s what the downtrodden villagers at yon Poggie Tavern call me. Better credentials are not needed.

Leave a Reply

