Vision Impaired Ghosts

My Left Eye Sees Ghosts

My Left Eye Sees Ghosts (2002) is an Asian comedy/horror flick that totally stole from Clive Barker’s Ghost Boy, whose dad is a ghost and his mom not a ghost, which gives Ghost Boy the ability to see the land of the living with one eye and the land of the dead with the other. I’m guessing they don’t make contacts for people with this kind of vision impairment.

My Left Eye Sees Ghosts

Regardless, Sammi is a gold-digging widower who discovers she has the same ability. (She married into money and her surviving in-laws want her gone, but now she’s gotten used to luxuries like butlers and control top panty-hose.)

My Left Eye Sees Ghosts

Before she can fill her pool with Budweiser™ (that’s the first thing I’d do if I married into money), the dead need her to function as a spiritual conduit to funnel their one remaining wish in the land of those not yet deadened. Sammi doesn’t want to deal with any of this supernatural crap. She does, however, enlist the aid of a prank-pulling spirit to help her track down her husband’s soul.

My Left Eye Sees Ghosts

More comedy than horror, I thought the concept was unique enough to give it a spin. The result? I was wrong, which is odd as I’ve never been wrong about anything in my entire life. Sammi’s easy to look at, but the rest of the movie I could’ve watched with just my left eye.

Leave a Reply

